So, I think you needed to know something about our system. Here’s a list of 10 Solar System Facts you might not now.

1. What is it?

Our solar system is made up of the sun in the center and everything that moves around it. This includes eight planets and their natural satellites such as Earth’s moon, dwarf planets such as Pluto and Ceres, asteroids, comets and meteoroids.

2. Sun-Centered

The sun is the center of our solar system. It contains almost all of the mass in our solar system and exerts a tremendous gravitational pull on planets and other bodies.

3. Age

Our solar system formed about 4.6 billion years ago.

4. Can Stand On Them

The four planets closest to the sun are Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars. They are called the terrestrial planets because they have solid, rocky surfaces.

5. Can’t Stand on Them

Two of the outer planets beyond the orbit of Mars,  Jupiter and Saturn, are known as gas giants, while the more distant Uranus and Neptune are called ice giants.

6. Beyond Neptune

Most of the known dwarf planets exist in an icy zone beyond Neptune called the Kuiper Belt, which is also the point of origin for many comets. Ceres is the exception. It is in the main asteroid belt.

7. Hard to Breathe

Many objects in our solar system have atmospheres, including planets, some dwarf planets and even a couple moons. But none of them are suitable for humans.

8. Spiral Galaxy

Our solar system is located in the Orion Arm of the Milky Way Galaxy. There are most likely billions of other solar systems in our galaxy. And there are billions of galaxies in the Universe.

9. Taking Measure

We measure distances in our solar system by Astronomical Units (AU). One AU is equal to the distance between the sun and the Earth, which is about 93 million miles (150 million km).

10. Going the Distance

NASA’s twin Voyager 1 and Voyager 2 spacecraft are the first spacecraft to explore the outer reaches of our solar system.